Pieces of the Past logo
Pieces of the Past  •  Quilt Home Page  •  << Previous Page : Next Page >>

Masonic Home 1927 quilt square
#19 on Map

Marion Case CunninghamMarion Case Cunningham, eldest daughter of Des Moines pioneers Rollin A. Case, Jr. and Marion Wilcox Case, wife of former Des Moines city councilman Jack Cunningham, and lifelong Des Moines resident, served on the first Board of Directors for the Des Moines-Zenith Historical Society and was a volunteer dispatcher for the Des Moines Fire Department. Marion made the quilt square depicting the Masonic Home of 1927.

Masonic Home - 1927

Now located at 23660 Marine View Drive S., the Masonic Home of Washington, a retirement home open to Washington State Masons, their wives, widows and widowed mothers, was originally located in Puyallup. By 1923 it had outgrown its capacity, so in May 1924 the Masons purchased the picturesque site in Zenith that has easy access to Seattle. Construction began in 1925, the cornerstone was laid in 1926, and in July 1927 fifty-eight residents moved in.
The building has seen many renovations over the years. In addition to a large water system and lawns, an arbor, gardens, recreation fields, a pool and fountain, a conservatory, and a sun room, a fifty-bed infirmary was added in 1967 and was increased by 24 beds in 1987. The Health Center, added in 1988, sports a multipurpose room, hobby room, physical therapy area, hydrotherapy pool, patio, porch and storage space.

—paraphrased from One Hundred Years of the “Waterland” Community: A History of Des Moines, Washington

Masonic Home photo

Masonic Home photo


Pieces of the Past  •  Quilt Home Page  •  << Previous Page : Next Page >>  •  ^ to Top ^

© 2004 Des Moines Historical Society